Maritime Security Center

 

 ESTABLISHMENT                                                        

​In accordance with the Royal Directives of His Majesty the Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces, Maritime Security Centre (MSC) was commissioned in 2013. The Centre conducted its operations since then till 2018 at its temporary location in the Head Quarters Royal Navy of Oman. In December 2018, the grand opening of the newly constructed MSC building in MAM Camp was celebrated. It is considered to be one of the highly important military monuments added to the series of achievements in the Sultanate during the glorious covenant of His Majesty the Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces. The new building contains various fittings, systems and equipment needed to carry out roles and responsibilities assigned upon the MSC. There are several military, security and civilian agencies involved at operation level in the Centre  that are related to maritime security.

 ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES                                

MSC is responsible for command and control of maritime security operations in the Omani maritime zone, provision of necessary protection of the ports / marine installations and coast line, fighting organized crimes and illegal trading, fighting piracy, sea environment pollution, hindrance of International navigation routes, maritime terrorism, global changing, sea conflicts, infiltration and smuggling, protection of fisheries, SAR and provision of assistance to sailing vessels in the Omani maritime zone. The MSC coordinates with the Omani concerned agencies of the maritime security. In addition, the Centre collects and analyzes received data. It also shares such data with a number of international maritime security agencies that are monitoring threats to maritime security.

 OPERATION                                                                    

MSC operates around the clock by an Omani crew from various military, security and civilian agencies that are related to maritime security. The Centre receives incident reports through several available means and channels in order to provide proper and rapid response to the incident. The crew monitors constantly and 24/7 the Omani Maritime zone through specialized systems and equipment in order to maintain safety and stability.  

 

 DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES                                 

​1. Unity of efforts of all related agencies to maritime security.

2. Provision of capabilities and facilities such as systems,

hardware, reconnaissance flights and marine vessels.

3. Drawing plans for action to combat illegal activities and any sort of organized maritime crimes in ports, installations and coastal line.

4. Take precautionary action that contribute directly in the protection of fish stock, natural resources and marine reservation.

5. Active response to environmental and humanitarian disasters by utilizing capabilities and facilities available in Oman.

6. Participating in the planning process of maritime crisis and disasters management in addition to the preparation of future scenarios of maritime risks.

7. Public awareness of the importance of maritime security and their cooperation to preserve marine natural resources of the Sultanate.

8. Monitoring and follow up navigation routes via the available systems, hardware and other resources.

9. Strengthening cooperation and information exchange with friendly and brotherly countries, in addition to international and regional organizations and agencies related to maritime security.

 Following risks fall under the responsibilities of MSC:

1. SAR.

2. Piracy.

3. Illegal immigration (infiltration).

4. Illegal fishing and overfishing.

5. Sea pollution.

6. Hindering international navigation routes.

7. Tampering and vandalism of oil installations.

8. Organized crimes, illegal trades and smuggling.

مركز الأمن البحري

  التأسيس                                                                

بمباركة سامية من لدن مولانا جلالة القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة حفظه الله ورعاه، جاء تأسيس مركز الأمن البحري في عام 2013م حيث مارس المركز مهامه وأدواره منذ تلك الفترة وحتى منتصف عام 2018م في مقره المؤقت بقيادة البحرية السلطانية العمانية، ليكون في شهر ديسمبر من عام 2018م على موعد مع افتتاح المبنى المخصص له في معسكر المرتفعة بمحافظة مسقط كواحد من الصروح العسكرية الشامخة التي تضاف إلى سلسلة الإنجازات التي تحققت في السلطنة خلال العهد الزاهر  الميمون لمولانا جلالة القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة (أبقاه الله). ويحتوي المبنى الجديد للمركز على مختلف التجهيزات والأنظمة والمعدات التي تمكنه من أداء واجباته ومهامه المكلف بها في مجال الأمن البحري وبمشاركة مختلف الأجهزة العسكرية والأمنية والمدنية المعنية بهذا المجال.

  المهام                                                                   

يعنى المركز بإدارة وقيادة عمليات الأمن البحري في المنطقة البحرية العمانية وتوفير الحماية اللازمة للموانئ من الجهة البحرية والمنشآت والسواحل البحرية ومكافحة التهديدات الأمنية البحرية كالهجرة غير المشروعة، والجريمة المنظمة والتجارة غير المشروعة، والقرصنة البحرية، وتلوث البيئة البحرية، وإعاقة طرق الملاحة الدولية، والإرهاب البحري، والتغير المناخي، والأزمات والنزاعات، والتسلل والتهريب، وحماية وتأمين المصائد السمكية، وعمليات البحث والإنقاذ وتقديم المساعدة للسفن المبحرة في المنطقة البحرية العمانية، وذلك بالتنسيق مع الجهات المعنية بالأمن البحري في السلطنة ، إلى جانب جمع وتحليل وتبادل المعلومات بين مراكز العمليات المختلفة في الدول المعنية بالقضايا التي تهدد الأمن البحري.

  عمل المركز                                                            

يعمل مركز الأمن البحري على مدار الساعة بطاقم عماني مكون من مختلف الأجهزة العسكرية والأمنية والمدنية المعنية بالأمن البحري، ويتلقى المركز البلاغات عبر مختلف الوسائل والقنوات المتاحة ليتم توفير الاستجابة السريعة والإجراءات الممكنة حيالها بالتنسيق مع الجهة المعنية بكل شأن، كما يقوم طاقم المركز وعلى مدار الـ(24 ساعة) بمراقبة المنطقة البحرية العمانية من خلال الأنظمة والمعدات المتخصصة في هذا الشأن ، وذلك بهدف الحفاظ على تلك المنطقة آمنة مستقرة.

  واجبات مركز الأمن البحري                                          

1. توحيد الجهود بين الجهات المعنية بالأمن البحري.

2.توفير القدرات والإمكانات اللازمة من المعدات والأجهزة وطائرات الاستطلاع والسفن والزوارق.

3.وضع الإجراءات والخطط لمكافحة الأنشطة غير المشروعة وكافة أشكال الجريمة البحرية المنظمة في الموانئ والمنشآت والسواحل البحرية.

4.الإجراءات والتدابير اللازمة والتي تسهم مباشرة في حماية المخزون السمكي والمواد الطبيعية والحياة البحرية.

5.الاستجابة الفاعلة لأزمات الكوارث البيئية والإنسانية عن طريق توظيف القدرات والإمكانات المتوفرة لدى السلطنة.

6.المشاركة في التخطيط لإدارة الأزمات والكوارث البحرية وإعداد التصورات المستقبلية للمخاطر البحرية.

7.توعية المواطنين والمقيمين ومرتادي البحر بأهمية الأمن البحري والتعاون للحفاظ على الثروات الطبيعية البحرية للسلطنة .

8.متابعة ومراقبة حركة الخطوط الملاحية عن طريق الأجهزة والوسائل والمصادر المتوفرة.

9.تعزيز التعاون وتبادل الخبرات مع الدول الشقيقة والصديقة والمنظمات والهيئات الإقليمية والدولية ذات الصلة بالأمن البحري.

  المخاطر البحرية التي تقع ضمن مسؤوليات مركز الأمن البحري  

1. القرصنة البحرية.

2. الهجرات غير الشرعية ( التسلل).

3. الصيد غير المشروع والصيد الجائر.

4. تلوث البيئة البحرية.

5. إعاقة طرق الملاحة الدولية.

6. الإرهاب البحري.

7. العبث والتخريب بالمنشآت النفطية البحرية.

8. الجريمة المنظمة والتجارة غير المشروعة وأنشطة التهريب.​